Short answer: Heidi Health has a permanent free plan with unlimited transcription. Tali AI has a free Personal tier (5 scribes a month). Nabla offers a free trial signup, but current limits are not published. Freed has a 7-day trial, not a free plan. Free is not the same as HIPAA-ready: confirm BAA coverage first.
Free access compared
| Tool | Starting price | Free option | Best for |
|---|
HeidiMore- HIPAA BAA (and which plan): Yes. Heidi states it makes a BAA available to every covered entity it works with; plan-level conditions: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
- EHR integrations: Native athenahealth integration (schedule sync, structured writeback); Epic via SMART on FHIR; desktop app integrations; EHR integration is an add-on on some plans Vendor-reported
- Data retention and deletion: Audio deleted once the transcript is created unless you enable a recording-saving feature. Organization auto-deletion configurable from 1 to 90 days; otherwise retained until deleted. Flexible retention on team plans. Documentation reviewed
- Note quality and accuracy: Not yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested
- Sources: Heidi pricing (US), Heidi HIPAA and BAA, Heidi privacy policy (certifications, retention), Heidi Trust Centre, Heidi Series B announcement
| Free $0; Clinician $150/mo monthly or $110/mo billed yearly; Practice $180 per seat/mo billed yearly; Max seat upgrade $409/mo monthly or $299/mo yearly (Clinician) and $399/mo (Practice); Enterprise: custom (US prices) Documentation reviewed | Yes. Free plan with unlimited transcription and standard templates; Ask Heidi and advanced templates limited Documentation reviewed | Starting free; broad template library |
|---|
TaliMore- HIPAA BAA (and which plan): States HIPAA compliance; BAA availability and plan: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
- EHR integrations: US: Net Health, Practice Fusion, Veradigm; Canada: Accuro, Med Access, PS Suite, OSCAR Pro, and others; dictation and search work in any EHR Vendor-reported
- Data retention and deletion: Audio streamed in real time with no PHI stored beyond the conversation; custom retention (for example auto-delete every 30 days) on Enterprise Documentation reviewed
- Note quality and accuracy: Not yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested
- Sources: Tali US pricing, Tali security and privacy, Tali FAQ, Tali seed financing
| US site: Personal free; Starter US$68/mo monthly or US$60/mo annual (40 scribes/mo); Pro US$100/mo monthly (annual price shown inconsistently on the page, ask vendor); Enterprise: custom; part-time accounts $80/mo Documentation reviewed | Yes. Personal plan: 14 days of Pro, then 5 AI scribes and 60 minutes of dictation a month Documentation reviewed | Canadian clinicians (Canadian data residency) |
|---|
NablaMore | Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor). nabla.com/pricing returned 404 on 2026-10-12. Third-party trackers report a historical $119/mo Pro plan; treat as unverified. Not verified | "Try it for free" signup on the homepage; current free-tier limits: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed | Therapy-heavy practices wanting no audio retention and a 14-day standard data retention |
|---|
FreedMore- HIPAA BAA (and which plan): Yes. BAA is Schedule A of the Platform Terms and applies from sign-up on every plan; signed copy on request; organization-wide BAA on Groups Documentation reviewed
- EHR integrations: EHR push to browser-based EHRs on Premier ("send notes straight into any browser-based EHR with one click"); copy and paste on other plans Vendor-reported
- Data retention and deletion: Audio deleted after the note is processed (recoverable up to 48 hours; troubleshooting copies up to 14 days). Notes deletable anytime or auto-deleted after 30 days (backups up to 7 more days). Custom retention on Groups. Documentation reviewed
- Note quality and accuracy: Not yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested
- Sources: Freed pricing, Freed security, Freed BAA help article, Freed privacy and audio retention, Freed Platform Terms of Use, Freed Series A press release
| Starter $39/mo (up to 40 notes/mo); Core $79/mo (unlimited notes); Premier $119/mo monthly or $104/mo billed annually; Groups: custom quote Documentation reviewed | No permanent free plan. 7-day free trial, no credit card. Pricing page offers Core free to residents, students, and trainees. Documentation reviewed | Solo psychiatrists, mostly med management; published pricing |
|---|
Is free HIPAA-ready?
HHS guidance says using a cloud service to store or process ePHI without a BAA violates the HIPAA Rules. Heidi states a BAA is available to every covered entity; confirm it covers the Free plan. Tali's US BAA process is not publicly disclosed. Freed's BAA applies from sign-up, including the trial.
Sources and last checked
Checked 2026-10-12.