Key differences
- Free access: Tali has a free Personal tier (5 scribes a month); Freed offers a 7-day trial.
- Mid tier: Tali Starter US$60 to US$68/mo with 40 scribes; Freed Starter $39/mo with 40 notes.
- Unlimited: Tali Pro US$100/mo monthly; Freed Core $79/mo.
- BAA: Freed's BAA is in its Terms; Tali's BAA process is not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
- Data residency: Tali stores Canadian data in Canada; Freed stores data in the US.
Company background
Tali AI
Tali AI is a Toronto-based company founded in 2020 by Mahshid Yassaei and Hesam Dadafarin. Its FAQ says its language model began as a response to a Public Health Agency of Canada RFP, with a pilot in Edmonton in spring 2020. Tali announced a seed financing in late 2023 co-led by Esplanade Ventures and TMV. Tali is strongest in Canada (integrations with Accuro, Med Access, PS Suite, OSCAR Pro, and others) and has a US site with integrations for Net Health, Practice Fusion, and Veradigm. Total funding and headcount: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Freed
Freed was co-founded in January 2023 in San Francisco by Erez Druk and Andrey Bannikov, both former Meta engineers; Druk has said the idea came from watching his physician wife finish notes at night. In March 2025 Freed announced a $30 million Series A led by Sequoia Capital, bringing total funding to about $34 million, and reported more than 17,000 paying clinicians across 96 specialties at the time, with a team of roughly 50 people (CNBC). Freed's own company story page now says 26,000+ clinicians across 1,700+ clinics use the product. Freed sells directly to individual clinicians and small groups with self-serve checkout, and offers a Groups plan for clinics. It has also expanded beyond the scribe into coding, clinical evidence answers, visit prep, and a separate front desk product.
Side-by-side comparison
Prices in USD unless noted. "Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)" means the vendor does not publish it. Each cell carries an evidence label; see how we label evidence. No hands-on clinical testing has been done yet.
| Feature | Tali | Freed |
|---|---|---|
| Note quality and accuracy | Not yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested | Not yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested |
| Pricing tiers (exact, as published) | US site: Personal free; Starter US$68/mo monthly or US$60/mo annual (40 scribes/mo); Pro US$100/mo monthly (annual price shown inconsistently on the page, ask vendor); Enterprise: custom; part-time accounts $80/mo Documentation reviewed | Starter $39/mo (up to 40 notes/mo); Core $79/mo (unlimited notes); Premier $119/mo monthly or $104/mo billed annually; Groups: custom quote Documentation reviewed |
| Free tier / trial | Yes. Personal plan: 14 days of Pro, then 5 AI scribes and 60 minutes of dictation a month Documentation reviewed | No permanent free plan. 7-day free trial, no credit card. Pricing page offers Core free to residents, students, and trainees. Documentation reviewed |
| EHR integrations | US: Net Health, Practice Fusion, Veradigm; Canada: Accuro, Med Access, PS Suite, OSCAR Pro, and others; dictation and search work in any EHR Vendor-reported | EHR push to browser-based EHRs on Premier ("send notes straight into any browser-based EHR with one click"); copy and paste on other plans Vendor-reported |
| Specialties and templates | Customizable templates (Starter and up); custom clinic templates on Enterprise; psych-specific templates: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | Specialty-specific templates for 20+ specialties, including psychiatry and mental and behavioral health; personal templates; instant template builder (Core and up) Vendor-reported |
| Languages | Multilingual recording in 100+ languages; app interface in English, French, and Spanish Vendor-reported | Captures visits in multiple languages and writes the note in English (Spanish, Mandarin, Italian, German, Russian, Japanese, French, Korean, Thai, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Polish, Indonesian listed) Vendor-reported |
| Platforms | Desktop app and browser use alongside your EHR; telehealth recording on Starter and up. Mobile apps: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed | Web on any desktop, tablet, or smartphone browser; Zoom app for telehealth. Native app details: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed |
| In-person, telehealth, offline | In-person and telehealth. Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | In-person and telehealth both supported (Zoom app available). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP) | Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verified | SOAP shown by default; specialty headers and custom formats. Named DAP/BIRP templates: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Editing and customization | AI-powered editing, customizable templates, smart form filling Vendor-reported | Edit notes, "learn my format" from an edited note, dictation and saved phrases (Premier), custom templates Vendor-reported |
| Coding and billing help | Billing support listed in product menu; specific ICD-10/CPT features: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | Coding Assistant with ICD-10, E/M, and CPT suggestions on Premier Vendor-reported |
| Patient instructions and letters | Smart form filling and "Call a Patient" on Pro; patient letters: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | Patient instructions, referral letters, and exception notes on Premier Vendor-reported |
| Data retention and deletion | Audio streamed in real time with no PHI stored beyond the conversation; custom retention (for example auto-delete every 30 days) on Enterprise Documentation reviewed | Audio deleted after the note is processed (recoverable up to 48 hours; troubleshooting copies up to 14 days). Notes deletable anytime or auto-deleted after 30 days (backups up to 7 more days). Custom retention on Groups. Documentation reviewed |
| HIPAA BAA (and which plan) | States HIPAA compliance; BAA availability and plan: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed | Yes. BAA is Schedule A of the Platform Terms and applies from sign-up on every plan; signed copy on request; organization-wide BAA on Groups Documentation reviewed |
| SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUST | SOC 2 Type II; Quebec TGV; PIPEDA, PHIPA, HIA, HIPAA compliance stated. ISO 27001 / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | SOC 2 Type 2 (vendor states). ISO 27001 / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Where data is stored | Canadian data stored in Canada; US storage location for US users: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed | United States (Microsoft Azure) Documentation reviewed |
| Data used for model training? | Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verified | Vendor says PHI is never used for training and models are trained only on de-identified notes; Terms also allow training on your data with consent given in Platform settings Vendor-reported |
| Consent features | Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verified | Sample patient consent script published in FAQ and Help Center; in-app consent capture: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed |
| Support | Email support (4 business days on Personal, 2 on paid), phone support on paid plans, under 1 business day on Enterprise Vendor-reported | Live support from a Clinician Success team; dedicated account manager on Groups Vendor-reported |
| Contract terms | Monthly or annual; can cancel anytime and keep access to the end of the term Documentation reviewed | Monthly or annual self-serve; Groups by contract. Minimum term: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed |
Workflow walkthrough
Tali
Tali runs as a desktop and browser companion beside your EHR: you start an ambient scribe session or dictate directly into a field, and Tali writes the note or fills forms. Its roots in medical dictation show; many users mix dictation and ambient scribing. In supported EHRs Tali can place notes directly; elsewhere you copy and paste.
Freed
A typical Freed visit starts in the browser or on a phone: start a recording, see the patient, stop, and a draft note appears in about a minute. You review it against the transcript (available at the bottom of each note), edit, and either copy it into your EHR or, on Premier, push it into a browser-based EHR. Telehealth visits can be captured with the Zoom app. The workflow is deliberately simple and self-serve; there is little IT setup, which is the main reason solo clinicians adopt it quickly.
Psychiatry and behavioral health fit
Two federal rules matter for behavioral health. HIPAA treats psychotherapy notes (kept separate from the medical record) as a special category, so check that a scribe's default note does not blend process notes into the chart. Federally assisted substance use disorder programs are also covered by 42 CFR Part 2; the 2024 final rule aligned Part 2 more closely with HIPAA, with a compliance date of February 16, 2026 (HHS). None of the vendors here publicly describe Part 2 specific controls, The rule states that segregating Part 2 records is not required, and it creates a new category of SUD counseling notes that need separate patient consent, much like HIPAA psychotherapy notes. Part 2 programs should get written answers on how each tool handles consent, counseling-note content, and redisclosure before use.
Tali
Tali's real-time streaming with no stored audio is a privacy plus for behavioral health. However, it does not publish psychiatry-specific templates, a BAA process, or a model-training policy on the pages we checked, so US psychiatric practices should get those in writing before use. 42 CFR Part 2 controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Freed
Freed lists psychiatry and mental and behavioral health among its specialty templates, and its blog and Help Center publish behavioral health note guidance. For therapy-heavy practices, check whether the default structure separates the progress note from anything you would treat as HIPAA psychotherapy notes, and confirm you can suppress sensitive details (trauma narratives, substance use, third-party information) before notes leave the tool. The 30-day auto-delete option and default audio deletion help minimize retained sensitive content. Freed does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Strengths and weaknesses
Tali
Strengths
- Free Personal tier with a 14-day Pro trial
- Strong Canadian EHR coverage and data residency
- Combined dictation and ambient scribe
- SOC 2 Type II and Quebec TGV
- Clear support response times by plan
Weaknesses
- US pricing page shows inconsistent annual Pro price
- US BAA process not public
- Few US EHR integrations
- Model training policy not public
- Psych templates not listed
Freed
Strengths
- Lowest published entry price in this group ($39/mo Starter)
- Transparent public pricing and self-serve signup
- BAA included in Terms on every plan, including the trial
- Psychiatry and behavioral health templates listed
- Default audio deletion plus optional 30-day note auto-delete
Weaknesses
- No permanent free plan (7-day trial only)
- EHR push, coding, and letters require Premier ($104 to $119/mo)
- Starter caps at 40 notes a month
- Note-level integrations are browser-based; deep Epic workflows are not its focus
- ISO 27001 or HITRUST not publicly listed
Who should pick which
| Practice type | Better fit |
|---|---|
| Canadian clinician on Accuro, Med Access, or PS Suite | Tali |
| US psychiatrist wanting a documented BAA today | Freed |
| Heavy dictation user | Tali |
| Budget unlimited ambient notes | Freed Core ($79/mo) |
| Try before paying, long term | Tali Personal (free tier) |
Verdict
Pick Tali if you practice in Canada or rely on dictation plus scribing. Pick Freed if you are in the US and want lower unlimited pricing and a BAA already in the Terms.
Whichever you choose, sign the BAA before any real patient audio is recorded, set retention to the shortest period that fits your workflow, and test with your own templates during the trial or pilot.
Related reading: Freed review and the psychiatry AI scribe guide.
FAQ
Is Tali HIPAA compliant?
Tali states HIPAA compliance and SOC 2 Type II. Ask Tali for its BAA before using US patient data.
Why does Tali's annual Pro price look odd?
On 2026-10-12 the US page showed Pro at US$100/mo monthly and "CA $68" for annual. Confirm the current annual price with Tali.
Which supports more languages?
Tali lists recording in 100+ languages. Freed lists 14 non-English languages and writes notes in English.
Is this medical or legal advice?
No. This is general information. Confirm BAA terms, data use, and consent requirements with each vendor and your compliance advisor before using patient data.
How were facts checked?
Each fact comes from the vendor's official pricing, security, trust, or help pages, checked on 2026-10-12. Where a vendor does not publish something, we say so rather than estimate it.
Sources and last checked
All links checked 2026-10-12 (2026-10). Vendors change prices and terms often; re-verify before buying.
- Tali US pricing (checked 2026-10-12)
- Tali security and privacy (checked 2026-10-12)
- Tali FAQ (checked 2026-10-12)
- Tali seed financing (checked 2026-10-12)
- Freed pricing (checked 2026-10-12)
- Freed security (checked 2026-10-12)
- Freed BAA help article (checked 2026-10-12)
- Freed privacy and audio retention (checked 2026-10-12)
- Freed Platform Terms of Use (checked 2026-10-12)
- Freed Series A press release (checked 2026-10-12)
- HHS, 42 CFR Part 2 final rule fact sheet (checked 2026-10-12)