Key differences
- Pricing transparency: Heidi publishes Free, Clinician, and Practice prices; Nabla's pricing page returned 404 on 2026-10-12.
- Retention: Nabla keeps notes 14 days by default and stores no audio; Heidi deletes audio by default and lets organizations set 1 to 90 day auto-delete.
- Model training: Nabla states it does not train on your data; Heidi's public pages do not state an explicit policy.
- Hosting: both host US data in the US (Nabla on Google Cloud US regions).
- Apps: both cover iOS, Android, and web; Heidi adds a native desktop app, Nabla a browser extension and Echo desktop capture.
Company background
Heidi Health
Heidi was founded in Melbourne, Australia, in 2021 by Dr. Thomas Kelly (a former vascular surgical resident), Waleed Mussa, and Yu Liu, and began launching products in early 2024 (TechCrunch). In October 2025 it closed a $65 million Series B led by Point72 Private Investments at a $465 million valuation, bringing total funding to $96.6 million (Heidi press release). At that time Heidi reported more than 2 million consults a week in 110 languages across 116 countries; its homepage now cites 175M+ patient interactions supported worldwide. Heidi sells both self-serve (Free, Clinician, Practice) and enterprise plans, and lists health system customers such as Beth Israel Lahey Health and MaineGeneral Health on its site.
Nabla
Nabla was founded in Paris in 2018 by Alexandre Lebrun (CEO), Delphine Groll (COO), and Martin Raison (CTO); Lebrun previously sold AI companies to Nuance and Facebook. Nabla raised a $70 million Series C in June 2025 led by HV Capital, bringing total funding to $120 million, and has a US office in Brooklyn, New York. Its site says it is deployed in 130+ health organizations, used by 85,000+ clinicians, and supports 20M+ patient encounters per year. Nabla has shifted toward organization deals and EHR-embedded deployments (Epic, athenahealth, and Nabla Connect for other EHRs), while still offering a free trial for individuals.
Side-by-side comparison
Prices in USD unless noted. "Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)" means the vendor does not publish it. Each cell carries an evidence label; see how we label evidence. No hands-on clinical testing has been done yet.
| Feature | Heidi | Nabla |
|---|---|---|
| Note quality and accuracy | Not yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested | Not yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested |
| Pricing tiers (exact, as published) | Free $0; Clinician $150/mo monthly or $110/mo billed yearly; Practice $180 per seat/mo billed yearly; Max seat upgrade $409/mo monthly or $299/mo yearly (Clinician) and $399/mo (Practice); Enterprise: custom (US prices) Documentation reviewed | Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor). nabla.com/pricing returned 404 on 2026-10-12. Third-party trackers report a historical $119/mo Pro plan; treat as unverified. Not verified |
| Free tier / trial | Yes. Free plan with unlimited transcription and standard templates; Ask Heidi and advanced templates limited Documentation reviewed | "Try it for free" signup on the homepage; current free-tier limits: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed |
| EHR integrations | Native athenahealth integration (schedule sync, structured writeback); Epic via SMART on FHIR; desktop app integrations; EHR integration is an add-on on some plans Vendor-reported | Epic and athenahealth integrations; Nabla Connect for other EHRs; export to EHR Vendor-reported |
| Specialties and templates | Standard templates on Free; advanced templates and team template sharing on paid plans; template configuration 1:1 on higher tiers Vendor-reported | Help Center and third-party listings cite 55+ specialties and custom templates; current list: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Third-party sourced |
| Languages | Vendor reports use in 110 languages (Series B release); research cites transcription across 77 languages Vendor-reported | 35+ languages including bilingual encounters (vendor materials as reported); confirm current list Vendor-reported |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android, and Heidi Desktop for macOS and Windows Documentation reviewed | iOS and Android apps, web, and a Chrome/Edge extension; Echo desktop app for remote encounters on Zoom, Teams, or other apps Documentation reviewed |
| In-person, telehealth, offline | In-person and telehealth (Desktop captures call audio directly). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | In-person and telehealth (Echo). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP) | Template library includes SOAP and specialty formats; named DAP/BIRP availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | SOAP and custom note formats; named DAP/BIRP availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Editing and customization | Template editor, word library, auto-edit rules, and "note insights" that propose fixes from your edits Vendor-reported | Customizable templates, Magic Edit, dot phrases, and custom dictionaries (Core API features) Vendor-reported |
| Coding and billing help | Coding listed as a paid-plan feature on the pricing grid Vendor-reported | E/M and ICD-10 suggestions grounded in documentation and AMA guidance (Coding product) Vendor-reported |
| Patient instructions and letters | Drafts referrals, letters, care plans, and patient recaps from the note; recaps wait for clinician approval Vendor-reported | Patient-friendly instructions listed as a Core API feature; letters in app: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Data retention and deletion | Audio deleted once the transcript is created unless you enable a recording-saving feature. Organization auto-deletion configurable from 1 to 90 days; otherwise retained until deleted. Flexible retention on team plans. Documentation reviewed | No audio stored by default. Notes retained for a configurable period, 14 days by default. Documentation reviewed |
| HIPAA BAA (and which plan) | Yes. Heidi states it makes a BAA available to every covered entity it works with; plan-level conditions: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed | HIPAA documentation available on request in the Trust Center; BAA plan availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed |
| SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUST | SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 42001, Cyber Essentials Plus (privacy policy). HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 (Trust Center). HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Where data is stored | Regional hosting; US customer data hosted in the United States (also AU, UK, EU, Canada, Switzerland) Documentation reviewed | US clients on Google Cloud US regions; others in EU Google Cloud Documentation reviewed |
| Data used for model training? | Safety page says identifiers are stripped before processing. Explicit model-training policy for customer data: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported | Vendor states it does not train its models on your data Vendor-reported |
| Consent features | Patient consent resources published; in-app consent capture: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed | Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verified |
| Support | Priority support, guided onboarding, and dedicated customer success on higher tiers Vendor-reported | support@nabla.com; enterprise support details: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported |
| Contract terms | Monthly or yearly self-serve; Practice billed yearly; Enterprise offers custom terms and hosting Documentation reviewed | Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verified |
Workflow walkthrough
Heidi
With Heidi you open a session (on web, phone, or the desktop app), record or dictate, and a note is generated from the template you pick. The desktop app can dictate into any window and capture telehealth audio without a second login. After the visit Heidi can draft follow-on documents such as referral letters, care plans, and patient recaps, and its newer agent features can prep charts before clinic. Notes reach the EHR by copy and paste, by the athenahealth or Epic integrations, or through desktop app integrations, depending on plan.
Nabla
Nabla's flow is built around speed (Nabla says it does not retain audio and stores patient data for a minimal amount of time based on the user's retention settings, 14 days standard): start the assistant on a phone, in the browser extension, or in Echo for video visits, have the conversation, and a structured note is ready within seconds. Edits and exports happen in the app, or the note lands inside Epic or athenahealth when the organization has an integration. Because notes are kept only 14 days by default, clinicians are expected to finalize and export promptly.
Psychiatry and behavioral health fit
Two federal rules matter for behavioral health. HIPAA treats psychotherapy notes (kept separate from the medical record) as a special category, so check that a scribe's default note does not blend process notes into the chart. Federally assisted substance use disorder programs are also covered by 42 CFR Part 2; the 2024 final rule aligned Part 2 more closely with HIPAA, with a compliance date of February 16, 2026 (HHS). None of the vendors here publicly describe Part 2 specific controls, The rule states that segregating Part 2 records is not required, and it creates a new category of SUD counseling notes that need separate patient consent, much like HIPAA psychotherapy notes. Part 2 programs should get written answers on how each tool handles consent, counseling-note content, and redisclosure before use.
Heidi
Heidi publishes progress note resources on its site (psychiatry-specific templates: Not publicly disclosed, ask vendor), and its configurable retention (1 to 90 day auto-delete for organizations) and default audio deletion suit practices that want short retention of sensitive material. Because Heidi increasingly drafts patient-facing recaps and runs agents over chart data, behavioral health practices should decide which outputs are allowed for sensitive visits and keep patient recaps behind clinician approval (which Heidi says is the default). Heidi does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Nabla
Nabla's no-audio-by-default and 14-day default note retention are among the most conservative in this group, which is attractive for behavioral health. Its 2025 funding release cited adoption growth in behavioral health settings. Short retention means you must export notes promptly, and you should confirm whether psychiatric templates (mental status exam, risk assessment, medication management) are available on your plan. Nabla does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Strengths and weaknesses
Heidi
Strengths
- Real free plan with unlimited transcription
- Native apps on web, iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows
- Broad certifications (SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001)
- Strong multilingual reach
- Letters, recaps, and agents beyond the note
Weaknesses
- Clinician plan ($150/mo monthly) costs more than Freed Core
- Practice plan is billed yearly only
- EHR integration is an add-on on some plans
- Model training policy not stated explicitly on public pages
- Feature set is broad and changes quickly, which can mean more setup
Nabla
Strengths
- No audio stored by default and 14-day default note retention
- Explicit statement that it does not train on customer data
- SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001
- Native mobile apps, browser extension, and desktop capture
- Epic and athenahealth integrations
Weaknesses
- No public pricing page as of 2026-10-12
- Sales-led for paid use, which slows solo purchasing
- BAA terms for individual users not public
- Short default retention requires disciplined export
- Psych-specific template list not published
Who should pick which
| Practice type | Better fit |
|---|---|
| Solo clinician who wants a published price | Heidi |
| Privacy-first behavioral health group | Nabla, given no audio storage, 14-day default retention, and a no-training statement |
| athenahealth or Epic organization | Either; both list integrations |
| Practice wanting letters, recaps, and agents | Heidi |
| Health system evaluating a sales-led rollout | Nabla or Heidi Enterprise |
Verdict
Pick Heidi if you want to buy today at a published price, with a free plan to start. Pick Nabla if your organization values the most conservative data defaults and a written no-training stance, and can go through a sales process.
Whichever you choose, sign the BAA before any real patient audio is recorded, set retention to the shortest period that fits your workflow, and test with your own templates during the trial or pilot.
Related reading: Heidi review, Nabla review and the psychiatry AI scribe guide.
FAQ
Does Nabla still have a free plan?
The homepage offers a free trial signup. Current free-tier limits are not published; older third-party listings cite 30 consultations a month.
Which is better for Epic?
Both list Epic integration (Heidi via SMART on FHIR, Nabla via its Epic integration). Ask each for a live demo in your Epic build.
Which has stronger certifications?
Both list SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001. Heidi additionally lists ISO 42001 and Cyber Essentials Plus.
Is this medical or legal advice?
No. This is general information. Confirm BAA terms, data use, and consent requirements with each vendor and your compliance advisor before using patient data.
How were facts checked?
Each fact comes from the vendor's official pricing, security, trust, or help pages, checked on 2026-10-12. Where a vendor does not publish something, we say so rather than estimate it.
Sources and last checked
All links checked 2026-10-12 (2026-10). Vendors change prices and terms often; re-verify before buying.
- Heidi pricing (US) (checked 2026-10-12)
- Heidi HIPAA and BAA (checked 2026-10-12)
- Heidi privacy policy (certifications, retention) (checked 2026-10-12)
- Heidi Trust Centre (checked 2026-10-12)
- Heidi Series B announcement (checked 2026-10-12)
- Nabla homepage (free trial, scale figures) (checked 2026-10-12)
- Nabla Trust Center (checked 2026-10-12)
- Nabla data retention help article (checked 2026-10-12)
- Nabla HIPAA help article (checked 2026-10-12)
- Nabla EHR integration (checked 2026-10-12)
- Nabla Series C release (checked 2026-10-12)
- HHS, 42 CFR Part 2 final rule fact sheet (checked 2026-10-12)